MTN appoints Jonas chairperson designate, establishes international advisory board

Mcebisi Jonas

Mcebisi Jonas

Photo by Creamer Media

3rd May 2019

By: Natasha Odendaal

Creamer Media Senior Deputy Editor


Font size: - +

JSE-listed telecommunications giant MTN Group has established an international advisory board (IAB), led by political and business heavyweights.

The group also plans on effecting an “evolution of the board”, with former Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas appointed chairperson designate, as it enters a more stable and settled phase after years of challenging regulatory environments and highly competitive trading conditions.

The IAB, set to start on July 1, will be chaired by former South African President Thabo Mbeki.

Former Ghana President John Kufuor; former African Union political affairs commissioner Dr Aisha Abdullahi; former International Atomic Energy Agency director-general Dr Mohammed ElBaradei; Total (France) marketing and services president Dr Momar Nguer; and MTN Group outgoing chairperson Phuthuma Nhleko form part of the IAB.

“[The board] will counsel, guide and support the MTN Group from time to time in fulfilling its vision and objective of being one of the premier African corporations with a global footprint in telecommunications, contributing to increased digital inclusion in Africa and the Middle East, a pivotal aspect of the fourth industrial revolution,” the group said in a statement issued to shareholders on Friday.

The IAB will be non-statutory in nature and will not have any fiduciary responsibility.

Meanwhile, Jonas is succeeding Nhleko as MTN Group chairperson effective December 15.

Nhleko, who was anticipated to step down at the upcoming May 23 annual general meeting, will step down in December after overseeing an orderly transition of the board that includes the establishment of the IAB.

In addition, Dr Khotso Mokhele will assume the responsibility of lead independent director, while Alan Harper, Jeff Van Rooyen and Koosum Kaylan will step down from the board on December 15, after an orderly transition and handover to incoming directors.

Peter Mageza and Dawn Marole will step down from the board effective April 30, 2020, and Lamido Sanusi and Vincent Rague have been appointed to the board effective July 1, 2019.

“We are confident that the incoming directors will bring a wealth of experience, diversity of skills and geographical regional experience to the board,” the group concluded.

Edited by Creamer Media Reporter



Environmental Assurance (Pty) Ltd.
Environmental Assurance (Pty) Ltd.

ENVASS is a customer and solutions-driven environmental consultancy with established divisions, serviced by highly qualified and experienced...

ESAB showroom image
ESAB South Africa

ESAB South Arica, the leading supplier of high-end welding and cutting products to the Southern African industrial market is based in...


Latest Multimedia

sponsored by

Option 1 (equivalent of R125 a month):

Receive a weekly copy of Creamer Media's Engineering News & Mining Weekly magazine
(print copy for those in South Africa and e-magazine for those outside of South Africa)
Receive daily email newsletters
Access to full search results
Access archive of magazine back copies
Access to Projects in Progress
Access to ONE Research Report of your choice in PDF format

Option 2 (equivalent of R375 a month):

All benefits from Option 1
Access to Creamer Media's Research Channel Africa for ALL Research Reports, in PDF format, on various industrial and mining sectors including Electricity; Water; Energy Transition; Hydrogen; Roads, Rail and Ports; Coal; Gold; Platinum; Battery Metals; etc.

Already a subscriber?

Forgotten your password?







sq:0.092 0.145s - 159pq - 2rq
Subscribe Now