EOH appoints new interim CEO, nonexecutive directors after resignations

31st May 2024

By: Schalk Burger

Creamer Media Senior Deputy Editor


Font size: - +

JSE-listed information technology services company EOH has appointed Marius de la Rey as interim CEO, Veronica Motloutsi as an independent nonexecutive director, and Dennis Venter and Rhys Summerton as non-independent nonexecutive directors, effective from May 30.

This comes after EOH chairperson, interim CEO and director Andrew Mthembu resigned. Fatima Newman stepped down as a director but will remain as EasyHQ CE. Bharti Harie resigned as independent nonexecutive director.

The board thanked the outgoing nonexecutive directors for their dedication and commitment during their tenures, making themselves available, often on short notice, to attend the numerous board and committee meetings to tackle challenging circumstances, and making tough but necessary decisions.

"The board thanks Andrew Mthembu who not only provided strong leadership as the chairman of the board during his tenure, but also stepped in when called to as the executive chairman and interim CEO," said EOH chairperson Jabu Moleketi.

Further, Newman had successfully delivered on her mandate to re-develop and upgrade EOH's governance and risk framework to industry-leading standards during her five-year tenure as executive director.

The board thanked her for her invaluable contribution and continued commitment as she focuses on the growth and development of the EasyHQ business.

"I am excited to be leading EOH through the next part of our journey as our dedicated teams focus on delivering industry-leading technologies for our customers. I look forward to working alongside the existing and new board members," said EOH interim CEO De la Rey.

He is currently the CEO of EOH's largest segment, namely iOCO South Africa.

Following the resignations and appointments, EOH's board includes Moleketi, De lay Rey, Motloutsi, Venter and Summerton, as well as Nosipho Molope, Andrew Marshall and Sipho Ngidi as independent nonexecutive directors.

Further, the EOH board committees have been reconstituted with Marshall, Motloutsi and Summerton alongside Molope as chairperson on the audit and risk committee.

The nominations and remuneration committee is chaired by Ngidi, and Moleketi and Venter serve alongside him.

Molope, Ngidi and Moleketi serve on the social and ethics committee, which is chaired by Motloutsi.

EOH also advised shareholders that, following the changes to the board, it withdraws the cautionary announcement, and caution is no longer required to be exercised by shareholders when dealing in the company's securities.

Edited by Creamer Media Reporter




FlameBlock is a proudly South African company that engineers, manufactures and supplies fire intumescent and retardant products to the fire...


Multotec, recognised industry leaders in metallurgy and process engineering help mining houses across the world process minerals more efficiently,...


Latest Multimedia

sponsored by

Magazine image
Magazine round up | 12 July 2024
12th July 2024

Option 1 (equivalent of R125 a month):

Receive a weekly copy of Creamer Media's Engineering News & Mining Weekly magazine
(print copy for those in South Africa and e-magazine for those outside of South Africa)
Receive daily email newsletters
Access to full search results
Access archive of magazine back copies
Access to Projects in Progress
Access to ONE Research Report of your choice in PDF format

Option 2 (equivalent of R375 a month):

All benefits from Option 1
Access to Creamer Media's Research Channel Africa for ALL Research Reports, in PDF format, on various industrial and mining sectors including Electricity; Water; Energy Transition; Hydrogen; Roads, Rail and Ports; Coal; Gold; Platinum; Battery Metals; etc.

Already a subscriber?

Forgotten your password?







sq:0.878 0.944s - 298pq - 2rq
Subscribe Now