Joburg mayor Amad appoints new MMCs

3rd February 2023 By: Schalk Burger - Creamer Media Senior Deputy Editor

Joburg mayor Amad appoints new MMCs

City of Johannesburg mayor Thapelo Amad

City of Johannesburg (CoJ) mayor Thapelo Amad has appointed eight members to the mayoral committee (MMCs) after extensive consultations with other political parties, with the aim of solidifying the Government of Local Unity (GLU) partnership in the city.

The new members are Dada Morero as finance MMC, Loyiso Masuku as group corporate and shared services MMC, Jack Sekwaila as environment and infrastructure services MMC, Sepetlele Raseruthe as public safety MMC, Eunice Mgcina as development planning MMC, Nomoya Daphney Mnisi as economic development MMC, Anthea Natasha Leitch as housing MMC and Lubabalo Magwentshu as community development MMC.

Amad has also appointed Kenny Kunene MMC for transport and Ennie Makhafola MMC for health and social development.

“The new mayoral committee is tasked with ensuring the acceleration of service delivery in the CoJ. We are reaching out to the city's senior management team and urge them to work with the GLU in a cohesive and integrated manner. We must work together for and with our residents,” said Amad.

“We further urge senior management to instill professionalism and increase productivity that is performance-driven,” he added.

“For the city to achieve its goals, there must be alignment between the GLU mandate and government programmes, as informed by the Growth and Development Strategy of 2040. It is time for us as the GLU to get back to the basics and serve our residents,” he said.