African Union Commissioner H.E Dr Elham Mahmood Ahmed Ibrahim confirms attendance at 2016 Infrastructure Africa

African Union Commissioner Her Excellency, Dr Elham Mahmood Ahmed Ibrahim, has confirmed her attendance at 2016 INFRASTRUCTURE AFRICA BUSINESS FORUM taking place on the 9th and 10th June 2016 at the Sandton Convention Centre.

Mrs Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi, Special Envoy for Gender at the African Development Bank (AfDB), will also be attending the continent's most prestigious infrastructure event, along with other continental VIPs. This year's partners include the African Development Bank (AfDB) and the NEPAD Planning & Coordinating Agency (NPCA), with supporting partnerships with the DBSA, Indra, ECIC and Garuda Finance.

With the challenges being faced by South Africa's economy, a key focus of the conference will be regional opportunities for South African businesses and a call to action for South African private sectors players to look beyond SA's borders for new business opportunities.

With this year's African Development Bank (AfDB) partnership, the first-ever Africa Inclusive Infrastructure Forum (AIIF) – held during the conference - will focus on the empowerment of women in the infrastructure space.

In the face of growing international competition in Sub-Saharan Africa, South African-based companies need to take a long-term strategic view of the region. Companies are recognizing the need to develop a local presence in Africa, no longer just using South Africa as a base, but integrating their strategies with the evolving economies and underpinning infrastructure in the broader Sub-Saharan region.

Some of the speakers include: Admassu Tadesse: PTA Bank Andrew Etzinger: Eskom Christopher Olobo: IFC Muzi Kubeka: Norton Rose Fulbright Rajen Pillay: Garuda Finance David Renwick: Barclays Africa Peter Ballinger: OPIC Dr. John Tambi, NEPAD Head of Infrastructure Projects Stanley Subramoney, Menston Holdings Nigel Gwynne-Evans, dti Chief Director: African Industrialisation Pearl Munthali: PRASA Group Barbara Mommen: MCLI Tapiwa Dube: IDC Gaurav Nair: Jaltech Kannan Lakmeerharan, McKinsey & Company Coenraad Bezuidenhout: FTI Consulting Fazel Moosa: Investec Robert Appelbaum: Webber WentzelJohanna Mapharisa : Ernst & Young Sharron L McPherson: WEDI International Michaella Rugwizangoga: The Next Einstein Initiative Stella Murungi: Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA) Nonnie Wanjihia: EAVCA Kenya Dr Martyn Davies: Deloitte Benoit Fugah: ECIC Clive Ferreira: GAIA Infrastructure Capital Limited Mary Chege: Development Finance International Lida Fitts: US Trade and Development Agency